Felted Cards

Today I want to show you something I’ve been working on recently, a range of cards featuring wet felted pieces/pictures.

The first cards I made using this theme were some aimed at valentine’s day. Although me and Nathan don’t really celebrate valentine’s day I had been noticing a bit of a gap in the market on craft sites/etsy/facebook selling groups etc. for valentines day cards that were simple, classy and unusual. Everything I saw was either very, very mushy or cheeky/rude.

hearts-1

The felt hearts were made out of a sheet of felt I made myself from shades of pink, purple and red wool. After I had wet felted the wool together I let it dry and then sewed over the felt with my sewing machine in red, pink and purple cotton thread. Lastly I added some stitching in a shiny bronze thread to add a bit of sparkle to the card. As I wrote in my Felted Moths post, I love the combination of handmade felt and machine stitches, it creates such lovely textures! Finally I cut out heart shapes from the felt and used a hot glue gun to attach them to off-white cards.

hearts-2

Although these cards were aimed at valentine’s day to begin with, as there is no text on the outside or inside I think they could be suitable for Mother’s day, anniversaries, weddings, engagements or even birthdays if the recipient was particularly into hearts.

The next set of cards I made were these, sea themed ones. I used the same wet felting process, this time using a light blue colour for the sky, brown and yellow for sand and a combination of blues and greens for the sea. I added texture during the wet felting process by including curly white locks of wool to resemble sea foam and breaking waves. This time I did not add stitching as I felt there was enough texture already but I would like to experiment with machine stitching on a felt seascape at some point.

card-1

Again these cards are simple, with no text on or inside them meaning they could be used for any occasion. I gave one of these to my dad for his birthday last week and he was pleased with it. I like the idea that these cards are completely unique and each one is like a small original artwork in itself. They could even be framed by the recipient, making them a card and a present in one!

card-4

These cards so far have not been great sellers for me but I am still pretty happy with the way they look! I think they might go down better at craft fairs where it is good to have some lower priced items on your stall so that people who like your work but have a smaller budget can still afford to buy from you. The textures and colours of the felt are also much better in person than in photographs.

card-6

I am considering a meadow themed series of cards next, maybe poppies in a field or daffodils, everyone likes flowers right? And it would feel so appropriate with spring just around the corner!

What would you like to see depicted in felt on a card?

If you are interested my cards can be purchased here: Heart cards and here: Seascape cards

Leave a Reply

