Cushion covers – two ways

Hello again! It’s been a while but I’ve not stopped making things I promise!

My recent creative obsession – because that’s how it happens isn’t it?! Is making cushion covers for my Etsy shop. I finally got around to making the cherry blossom themed felt fronted cushion cover I had been planning for months and months.

Here it is! I’m really pleased with it, it’s turned out almost exactly as I’d imagined.

cushion 5cushion 3cushion 1

The other type of cushion cover I’ve been working on is patchwork. I’ve been doing patchwork for years now, ever since my mum taught me as a child. My style has always been pretty scrappy, not worrying too much about corners meeting or fussy pattern placement. However the past two weeks I have been giving a neater, more controlled type of patchwork a go, and I’ve got to say it’s really worth taking the extra time and care.

cushion 3 5cushion 2 3cushion 4 1

The patchwork panel on the front of these cushions was hand sewn using the english paper pieces method, the border, back panel and side seams were machine sewn. I used an envelope opening style on the back so that the cushion covers can be removed easily and washed.

My natural love of all things blue and green really shows through in my colour choices for these cushions. I plan to make some more in other colours next as I know that not everyone shares my love for ocean colours!

I’d love to know what you think of my cushion covers, or what your current crafting obsession happens to be. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

