Happy New Year!

Happy New Year everyone! Sorry I’m a few days late, but better late than never! I hope you’ve all had a wonderful festive season full of friends, family and relaxing.

It’s back to work for me today and we took the Christmas decorations down at the weekend, these two events always make me feel sad that Christmas and all the excitement and sparkle are over. However this year I am feeling more hopeful than usual, I am back at work but only at my job as a technician in a college which I love. Last month I finally got to quit my second job which I certainly did not love! Having more hours at the college means I only have to do the job I enjoy and it will even give me a few more hours a week for crafting and blogging, these are all good things and I am feeling very positive about the future.

The end of Christmas and the long, cold months of January and February can really put people in a dark place but this year I want to try to be thankful for what I do have – things like a warm cosy home and friends nearby. I want to appreciate a couple of quieter months before the busy and exciting months of spring and summer, winter is a great time to be creative and learn new skills. And I also want to look forward to the start of spring and plan exciting adventures for the summer.

Rather than make new years resolutions that I just won’t keep, this year I am focusing on being positive and pro-active in whatever I find myself doing. Who’s with me for a positive start to 2016?

Speaking of being pro-active, I managed to find some time to be creative over the Christmas holidays despite all the rushing around we did. Here are some images of a small crochet bear I made for my friends new baby niece. This was actually my first ever commission, very exciting!

P1250098P1250102

I’ve also been getting creative in the kitchen after receiving a goats cheese making kit as a gift for Christmas!

I’ve always wanted to try making my own cheese and this kit had everything I needed plus very clear instructions. I would definitely recommend this kit to anyone who wants to give cheese making a go or as a gift for a cheese lover in your life!

My picture of the finished product does not look that appetising but I promise you it’s delicious, I’m looking forward to making goats cheese stuffed peppers with it tonight!

P1250104P1250105P1250106

So that’s just a little of what I’ve been up to lately, I’ve got lots of new projects lined up for the new year that I’m looking forward to sharing with you. Here’s to a creative and positive 2016!

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. I think your cheese looks super yummy! It might have looked more stylish if you smeared it on a bagel or cracker, then sprinkled the herbs…. I can picture it looking like something from a magazine. So jealous!

    • Thanks very much! Yes I certainly could have styled that image better, maybe thats something for me to work on this year!

Leave a Reply

