DIY Chalkboard

DSC_0020

Today I thought I’d share with you how I made a chalkboard for my home. With the availability of chalkboard paint nowadays it is probably something most people have tried before or could at least very quickly work out how to do it so I won’t go into too much detail about this quick little project.

First off I’d like to apologise for the dreadful photographs of this project, for some reason I only ended up working on this in the evenings when there is no natural light and I seem to have misplaced my flashgun!

Anyway enough apologies, to make a chalkboard you will need:

A Piece of wood, mine is a roughly A3 sized piece of MDF which my dad drilled two holes in for hanging

Primer

Chalkboard paint – I got mine from Wilkinsons for about £3 and it would definitely make many more chalkboards

Other paint of your choice

Masking tape

Ribbon or rope

To start paint your board with primer, leave to dry for the amount of time specified on the tin and then paint a boarder in whatever colour you choose – the edges of this boarder do not need to be neat, just make sure it is slightly larger than your intended finished boarder. I chose this teal colour, because I love it and also because I had some left over from my chair makeover.

P1240262

P1240265

DSC_0012

Next use masking tape to define where your chalkboard area will be and how wide your boarder will be. Then just paint inside the tape with your chalkboard paint, I did two coats and left it to dry fully before removing my tape.

DSC_0014

DSC_0017 The last step is to attach something to hang your board with, I decided to plait black and white ribbon but you could use rope or anything else that you think will be strong enough to hold your board. I did consider adding some beads to my ribbon  too so that is something you could try.

DSC_0023

One problem I came across was when I removed my masking tape there was not a clean line as paint had seeped under the tape, luckily I am not too bothered about this at all but if you are the kind of person who would be there are many other methods you could try. I am currently in the process of making a chalkboard as a housewarming gift for a friend and I am going to paint a stripy boarder which I hope will end up neater!

And there you have it, simple! I have hung my board above the stairs to the front door in our flat, it makes a great place to leave little notes and reminders to others or yourself. As you can see, I write very exciting things on mine like “Ring NPower Nat”

DSC_0021

Leave a Reply

