Christmas Crafts – Crochet Gingerbread Man

P1240253

Today I thought I’d share with you one of the projects I have been working on for Christmas presents this year. After getting very carried away browsing Pinterest for ideas for all things Christmassy I came across some very cute pictures of crochet gingerbread men and decided these little guys would be the perfect presents for all the kids in my life.

I did some research and in the end decided to use this pattern:  http://www.crochetpatterncentral.com/directory/christmas_ornaments.php – If you click on the link it will take you to a huge list of free patterns, click the one called ‘stuffed gingerbread man’ and it will take you to a PDF pattern!

As someone who has only been doing crochet for less than a year I was worried – as I always am – that this pattern may be too complex for me but it turned out to be super easy and pretty quick too! The pattern makes quite small gingerbread men which can be used as tree decorations or as a garland or anything else but it also suggests using a larger hook to increase their size so they can be small teddies. I used a 5mm hook and chunky wool and they came out just the size I was hoping for. I love finding free patterns which are so brilliantly written and simple to understand!

This pattern creates two flat gingerbread man shapes which you then decorate and join together using a double crochet stitch (single crochet stitch if you are in America!)

P1240261

P1240255

I used plain black safety eyes, buttons and ribbon to decorate my gingerbread men and then stitched them together and stuffed them with toy stuffing. The pattern suggests edging them with white wool all the way around like an icing outline but I was so happy with them before this stage that I have not tried that yet.

P1240256

P1240257

P1240259

Neatly attaching the two pieces together was probably the trickiest part of this little project but really did not take long at all. I think you could get one of these done in just a few hours, although I worked on mine for an hour here and there in the evenings. P1240260

P1240266

So far I have made two of these little gingerbread men so I plan to get two more done before Christmas. One of my cousins little boys is allergic to wool so I hope to make one out of fabric too, if I find time to do this I will definitely post it on here. I’m in full Christmas present making mode here now, I hope you’re not all sick of it already!

P1240267

2 thoughts on “Christmas Crafts – Crochet Gingerbread Man

  1. This is so adorable! I really want to make some of these, but the link you provided in your post doesn’t go anywhere 😦 Would you be able to fix it or email me the correct link to the gingerbread pattern you followed?? Thank you!

    • Hi
      I’m glad you want to give one of these a go! Sorry about the link, I’ve changed it now so hopefully you will be able to get to the pattern!
      Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

