Decoupage

Today I thought I’d share with you a quick overview of decoupage as it’s likely that it will feature on the blog a lot (in fact it already has in my chest of drawers makeover post)

I’m sure you know what decoupage is but just incase you don’t heres how Wikipedia describes it: Decoupage (or découpage) is the art of decorating an object by gluing colored paper cutouts onto it in combination with special paint effects, gold leaf and so on

For a long time it has been seen as pretty outdated (I think it has something to do with most decoupage designs involving cherubs in various shades of peach) or is that just me? However there are now a few brands making papers and glues especially for decoupage which are very current and exciting. Of course you don’t have to use special papers, you can use any paper – even newspaper can look brilliant on the right surface! But I wanted to give you a quick overview of some of my favourite brands of paper and glue and how to go about starting your own project.

It’s become a bit of a running joke in my house that I would decoupage everything if I could … well thats probably true (although that would look awful) it’s so addictive as it is such a versatile, quick, easy and cheap way to give an object a completely new look.

In the past I have decorated a range of items with this method. I love it, and it is really down to the interesting and beautiful papers which are available now. The brand I use the most is Decopatch. Their papers are thin (meaning it’seasier to rip them and place them over various shapes of object) but they are also strong so they won’t break when dampened with the glue and most of all the colours are bright and bold meaning they make a great impression even when layed ontop of a dark object. I also really like their glue as it is easy to work with and gives the finished object a beautiful shine and tough exterior. You could also use PVA,Modge Podge or other craft glues but I find the Decopatch glue works the best and it is available in a few different finishes such as glitter

.P1240123

Another brand I have recently started uing is Deco Mache, they have a great range of papers in some really beautiful patterns. I get my papers and glue from local craft shops and also The Decopatch Place
P1240122

Heres how you do it:

Choose an item you want to decorate, make sure the surface is clean and dry – you can decoupage almost any surface, I haven’t found one that didnt work yet! You may want to do a base coat first either with white paint or Decopatch primer. Some lighter coloured papers will be too translucent to cover a darker surface properly so you may need to paint or prime it with a lighter colour.

P1240125

Rip or cut up your paper – I like to rip it as I like the rough edges but you may want to be more precise or have a pattern in mind which would need cutting, thats fine too! The size of the pieces will depend on what you are covering. When I decorated chairs and small tables I used large pieces of about 1 or 2 inch squares. For smaller objects smaller pieces work better.P1240124

Paint some glue onto the surface of the object then lay the paper flat over the top. Make sure you put another layer of glue onto the paper.

P1240126

Overlap your peieces of paper to ensure no gaps and continue in this manner until you have finished your piece or design! You can combine different papers, patterns and colours if you wish or just keep it simple with one paper.

P1240127

You might want to give your piece a coat of varnish or lacquer now to keep it looking lovely, thats up to you.

This really is one of my favourite crafts as it is so easy to make something ugly so much more beautiful! I’m sure I will be sharing many more decoupage projects in the future!

 

Leave a Reply

